For Those Long Forgotten

Well, I got through hurricane Irma without losing power.  I did get bored and tried looking up an ex-girlfriend.  In fact, my first girlfriend.  Maybe my first attempt at friends with benefits.  Unfortunately she didn’t see it that way.  I pretty much was a douche.  Over the years, I’ve tried finding her on the internet.  Something like once every 5 years or so I’d get on the web and try to get an email address or number.   Never found her.  Anyways…with Irma hitting Tampa, I was off work and everything was closed so I spent like 10 hours on my laptop trying to find her.  Hey I was bored not stalkish.  So I found 3 email addresses that didn’t work.  I found two additional last names for here.  I finally found her current address on three different sites having the  same address.  So I sent her a card saying high and asking her to contact me.  I was very vague about our type of relationship.  I mean it’s been a quarter century. She may not remember me, but I doubt that.  We were tight for like 2 years.

Anyways, back to the card.  I spend an hour on the computer trying to come up with the verbiage I wanted to use.  I wanted to come off as friendly but not give a stalker vibe.  I mean this is kind of a stalker thing to do.  She lives in Texas and I’m in Florida so it’s not like I’m trying to rekindle a lost love.  I basically want to speak to someone I had a real connection with (I think, it could have been late teen hormones).  So after writing two different cards, I sent the one I thought was the most appropriate.

I sent it Wednesday.  The mail is picked up @ 7:30 pm so I’m thinking that she will get it Tuesday  or Wednesday.

I have no expectations.  I’m fairly certain that she is married and will just go ” What the fuck” and throw the correspondence away.  I’m nervous.  If she contacts me,she does. If she doesn’t, she doesn’t.  At least I tried.

Leave a comment